What to do if your Rails application cannot connect to Mysql?

When I use my Mac to continue developing my Rails application using Mysql as the database system. It first initialized and developed in Ubuntu.

After bundling tasks, I move to rake db:create to initialize my databases for development and test environment. But the problem comes out:

Mysql2::Error: Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock'

Ok, cd to the

/var/run/mysqld/

Oh, there’s no mysqld.sock there. Ok, so there must be the error as above error message.

So, I was wondering where mysqld.sock is in my computer? I was installed Mysql through brew and able to connect to Mysql by Mysql Workbench with no problem. So let’s see some variables. Enter to the terminal:

mysqladmin -p variables | grep socket

Provide the password, and then you will see something like:

screen-shot-2016-09-24-at-10-16-58-pm

| performance_schema_max_socket_classes                    | 10

| performance_schema_max_socket_instances                  | -1

| socket                                                   | /tmp/mysql.sock|

Wow, there comes in the socket line the mysql.sock file location

We have to connect through it.

After some research, I know that Rails settings the socket in the filedatabase.yml.

So, it’s EZ now, just replace the new found path.

It’s ok now. I can continue my work.

Leave a Reply

