Fixing rbenv not update ruby system (rbenv version different from ruby -v)

Recently, I faced with the problem of not syncing ruby version with my Mac.

My project requires ruby version >= 2.2.2 but default version is 2.0.0.

I haved installed ruby 2.3.1  on my rbenv (ruby version manager) and set it global, but when i bundle install, there comes some error liked:

activesupport-5.0.0 requires ruby version >= 2.2.2, which is incompatible with the current
version, ruby 2.0.0p648

Even rbenv version shows:

2.3.1 (set by /Users/duchoang/.ruby-version)

I checked back with ruby -v, it shows 2.0.0. Oh shit what happened?

I searched and they said that I have to install ruby-build, ok but after that I reallized that it’s not the cause:

brew install rbenv ruby-build

rbenv rehash

I reallized that I’ve switched to zsh, so instead of ~/.bash_profile I need to rerun the following command to ~/.zshrc:

$ echo 'if which rbenv > /dev/null; then eval "$(rbenv init -)"; fi' >> ~/.zshrc
$ source ~/.zshrc

done.

Leave a Reply

